RSS Feed

Garden Update

Posted on

It has been just about 3 weeks since I planted out all of my seedlings.  Things are looking well.  I added a fresh layer of grass clippings last night.  I never used to do this, but it’s really been helping with the weeds.  The first picture is of the raised beds.  I have plans to add one or two more this fall.  I think I’ll be done adding to them.  I think…

Starting at the top bed that looks like a number 7 we have from left to right: Old German tomato, Rhubarb, Silvery Fir tomato, and Spudakee tomato.  In the next bed that looks like an L from top to bottom: 9 yes 9! Jalapeno plants, bell peppers green and red, cubanelle peppers, cilantro, sage, sweet basil, lemon basil, thai basil, dill, and brussel sprouts.  That sucker is full!  in the square bed I have a zuchinni, burpless cucumbers and a pickling cucumber.  I can’t remember the varieties right now and I’m not at home.  I’ll get back to you.  The potato towers are doing great!  I have German Butterball and La Ratte planted.  This is my first year with the towers, so I am curious what the yield will be.

This is the back fence garden, creative I know.  I doubled the size of this garden over the fall and spring.  I really like how it turned out.

On the far left are my lilacs.  I planted them in the fall of 2008 and they were really really really slow to take off, but they just exploded with growth this year.  I think the mild winter helped?  Maybe?  Who knows.  Tucked in the back by the fence line are some shallots.  I didn’t know what to do with them and I didn’t want them mixed in with the onions so I threw them in the corner.  Next we have Baby Boo pumpkins that volunteered.  I planted those three years ago and they have been volunteering ever since.  There are also Irises all along the fence line.

On the right side of the back gate I planted another tomato so I could experiment with letting it trail.  It is a Roughwood Golden Plum.  Then I have irises, Husker Red Penstemom, and onions.  In the box looking thing are some young pumpkin plants.  I got a free pumpkin from Trader Joe’s last year.  I saved the seeds.  I wish I knew what kind it was.  I was delicious.  That I know for sure.  There also seems to be a red pool noodle in my garden.  I will have to ask the kids about that.

In the corner behind the shed is the compost bin, wheelbarrow storage, brick pile, garden paraphernalia stuff that never seems to have a home.   Don’t look at me that way, you have a corner like that too!

Leave a Reply

