RSS Feed

Painted Dresser Tutorial

Posted on
I needed something for my dining room. I had the table and chairs, but I didn’t have a sideboard or a hutch. The wall was empty. It just wasn’t right. I had seen repainted dressers all over the internet. I knew it was what I wanted to do. I looked on Craigslist. I looked at Goodwill. I looked and I looked for about two months. It was keeeling me! Finally, the day after Thanksgiving I met her. Ladies and Germs, meet Bertha!  
After I bought her and loaded her into my station wagon, I texted The Hubs the above picture.  He texted back,  GOOD GOD NO WOMAN!  If the man I loved more than anything despite his total lack of taste and design sense hated it, then I knew I was good to go.
And then she sat for a while.  I didn’t know exactly what I wanted to do with her.  I knew I wanted her to be black, so she’d go with the rest of the room.  But what kind of black?  Pottery Barn black?  Chippy black?  Milk paint black?  Then I found this post. Bertha and I had a date!
Here she is with one coat of primer.  I loved the foam roller, it was really easy to use.  The cheap foam brushes, worked great for all the grooves and hard to roll areas.

 Two coats of the black enamel/paint.  It rolled on like a dream.  I ended up with two coats on the body and three on the top.  I think the third coat added that extra smoothness.  Once she was all black, I thought she looked nice.  Pretty good, but…She needed a little somethin’ somethin’  I decided to sand down the edges and stain the wood.  I scuffed up the drawers and doors, anywhere I thought it need a little distressing.

lurve

I’m really happy with the end result.  I love the fact that I have tons of storage options.  I think I’ve only used two drawers, but I’m sure I’ll find some crap to stuff in there.  er her her her.

iphone late at night crappy lighting blah blah blah
Leave a Reply

